Lewis F. Morris Memorial and William L. Whitley Scholarship


The purpose of the Lewis F. Morris and William L. Whitley Scholarship is to provide an annual award to one scholarship applicant. The scholarship fund will be sent directly to the attending university or college for the sole purpose of paying expenses.

The scholarship value will be based on the interest earned off of the investments. The current value of the scholarship is $1,500.

Teacher, Coach, and Principal

Former students of Chuckatuck High School and friends of Lewis F. Morris proudly established the Lewis F. Morris Memorial Scholarship to be presented to a deserving student who follows the example of this former respected teacher, coach and principal. The Suffolk Foundation is honored to have been selected to distribute this worthy scholarship. Mr. Morris, a native of Pound, VA was a teacher, coach, and a principal of Chuckatuck High School from 1952 – 1965. He was a graduate of the University of Virginia and came from a family of educators.

Mr. Morris led by example and was loved by all who knew him. He was a fierce competitor who taught his athletes and other students his highest principles of sportsmanship and fairness. His leadership, friendship, inspiration, dedication, and philosophy that education and discipline will help mold the youth of today into the leaders of tomorrow, was our inspiration to learn.

Award Criteria

Each scholarship applicant must, at the time of the award:

  • Be a resident of the City of Suffolk.
  • Be a graduating senior at King’s Fork High School.
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher.
  • Be involved in athletic, extracurricular, and community activities.


Application, Deadline, and Submission Instructions

The Lewis F. Morris and William L. Whitley Scholarship utilizes the Suffolk Foundation’s common scholarship application form, which opens online on February 3, 2025. The application must be submitted online before the deadline of 5:00 pm, March 21, 2025. For more information, contact the Foundation staff at office@suffolkfoundation.org or by calling 757-923-9090.



2022 Awardee

Chloe Lawrence

King’s Fork High School

2021 Awardee

Mariya Walters

King’s Fork High School

2020 Awardee

Zane Michael Wise

King’s Fork High School

2019 Awardee

Lynn Gay

King’s Fork High School

2018 Awardees

Hannah Marston

King’s Fork High School

Hunter Ruggiero

King’s Fork High School

2017 Awardees

Alexis Jones

King’s Fork High School

Paige Summers

King’s Fork High School

2016 Awardee

Joshua Bush

King’s Fork High School

2015 Awardee

Lindsay Ransome

King’s Fork High School

2014 Awardee

Erin Whitley, King’s Fork High School

Erin Whitley

King’s Fork High School

Where are they now?

2013 Awardee

Carlisha M. Bevins, King’s Fork High School

Carlisha M. Bevins

King’s Fork High School