Amy Phelps Art Scholarship


The purpose of the Amy Phelps Art Scholarship is to provide an annual award to one scholarship applicant. The annual award will be given for the sole purpose of paying for college expenses. The Scholarship will be a grant awarded to one qualified applicant and funds will be sent directly to the college or university, once enrollment has been verified.

Amy Phelps, Local Artist

The Amy Phelps Art Scholarship was established in the name of Amy Phelps, a local artist, who lost her life in a tragic car accident. It is with excitement and gratitude that the Suffolk Foundation has been asked to manage this worthwhile scholarship. It gives the Foundation and the Phelps family much pleasure to assist a local student follow in Amy’s footsteps and fulfill their dreams. The $2,000 scholarship is available to local high school graduating seniors who are pursuing a career in art and who have a minimum 3.0 GPA. Graduating seniors from the following school systems are eligible to apply: Southampton, Franklin, Windsor, Smithfield, Surry, Sussex, Isle of Wight Academy, or Southampton Academy.

Award Criteria

  • Student must be a graduating senior from one of the following high schools: Southampton High School, Franklin High School, Windsor High School, Smithfield High School, Surry County High School, Sussex Central High School, Isle of Wight Academy, or Southampton Academy.
  • The student must plan to pursue the study of art in college.
  • A minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA is required to apply.
  • Two recommendations are required, including one from the student’s high school art teacher.
  • Up to three samples of the student’s art work are to be furnished with the application.
  • A short essay (up to 200 words) entitled “What Has Influenced My Love For Art and How Will It Enhance My Future” is required.

Application, Deadline, and Submission Instructions

The Amy Phelps Art Scholarship utilizes the Suffolk Foundation’s common scholarship application form, which opens online on February 3, 2025. The application must be submitted online before the deadline of 5:00 pm, March 21, 2025. For more information, contact the Foundation staff at or by calling 757-923-9090.


2022 Awardee

Rachel Iman, Longwood University

Sophia Verhaeghe

Smithfield High School

2021 Awardee

Rachel Iman, Longwood University

Jenna Spain

Isle of Wight Academy

2018 Awardee

Sadie Fillhart, Windsor High School

Emma Parker

Southampton Academy

2017 Awardee

AnMarie Evans, Old Dominion University

Grayson Ippolito

Smithfield High School

2016 Awardee

Sydney Gay, Longwood University

Nicole Vasilauskis

Smithfield High School

2015 Awardee

Tanisha Parson, Surry High School